Graduand to Graduate

Greetings!

A long time since my last post, and a lot has transpired.

For starters, I checked off some pretty big goals on my To Do List.

I completed my degree in first semester this year, and graduated from the Queensland University of Technology with a Bachelor of Creative Industries with Distinction on 20 July 2017. One major step in the right direction to achieving my dream of working in a publishing house with fiction novels complete.

Amanda Webster, QUT graduate.

I also competed at the World Artistic Roller Skating Championships in Novara, Italy, in October last year. I have always wanted to represent my country in my sport, and I was finally awarded the opportunity to do just that. Although I have technically checked this goal off my list, I competed as part of a team, and I do still want to compete at Worlds in my solo events.

Amanda Webster, world competitor.

So begins the next step in my journey: looking for a job. From successful student, to unemployed (still). At least when I was studying and someone asked what I did for work I could say, “I’m still studying”. Now all I say is, “I’m in the limbo between graduating and finding a job”. They always laugh at that, and even though I am joking, it does pull a little.

But I know I will find something, because I am determined to.

I will be what I want to be.

Leave a comment