Writing Prompt #7: You didn’t tell me you were leaving

You didn’t tell me you were leaving,

But out of nowhere, you were gone.

I remember feeling nothing,

All of a sudden, I was alone.

 

You didn’t tell me you were leaving,

But you warned me you would be gone.

You said I would be much older,

Now I can tell you, that you were wrong.

 

You didn’t tell me you were leaving,

I remember one night alone.

Parallel to us together,

In that spot, our place, our secret home.

 

You didn’t tell me you were leaving,

But I still see you standing there.

As long as I have you with me,

I know I will have nothing to fear.

 

I can tell you that I will join you,

One day I will see you again.

I will stand with you forever,

Listening and waiting, until then.

 

I can tell you that I will join you,

Someday, but I do not know when.

You can wait, and I will find you,

And we will be together then.

 

I won’t tell you that I am leaving,

That would just ruin the surprise.

Maybe one day you will find me,

And I will see your puffy red eyes.

 

I think my time has come to go now,

But you hold on with all your might.

It’s okay, don’t fret or fear now,

I will be with you for all your nights.

Leave a Reply

