What do you do when you can’t do what you love?

You play the song you’re dancing to next year on repeat and stop blogging every time it plays to sing along to it.

That’s what you do.

Here’s the situation:

  1. Take time off your sport after a big competition.
  2. Train in your off time.
  3. Injure yourself enough while preparing to return to said sport so that you can’t physically do said sport.
  4. Take more time off to heal.
  5. Find yourself with more time on your hands than you’ve ever had.

For someone who’s perpetually busy I find free time disconcerting.

What do I do? Am I filling in my time practically?

Is listening to next year’s routine music on repeat an appropriate way to spend my time?

Well, at least I’ll know my music. That’s right. I’m doing homework.

At least now I’ll have more time to work on my university assessment. Oh, that’s right. I hardly have anything to do for uni because I’m only taking two units this semester.

I suppose I can work on planning the manuscript I want to write. But I find motivation in being busy because you have no choice but to complete everything when you can, because you don’t know if you’ll have time later.

After blogging I think I’ll do both of these things, including what I opened with, because what’s work without procrastination?

Meaningless? Maybe. It’s like heroes without villains. You can’t have one without the other.

Like that saying I keep hearing:

Inside each of us lives two wolves – one is good and one is evil. Which wolf wins? The one you feed the most.

Leave a Reply

