Week 1 and an Introduction

Hi all (the two of you – or maybe that’s a bit optimistic)

I just finished my first week back at uni for semester 2. Although I’m only taking two units, they’re both quite exciting; since I’m reaching the pointy end of my degree, my classes are becoming more interesting.

I think KJB222 in particular is going to be a lot of fun. Not only is it taught by one of the most interesting/funny/passionate journalism teachers at the university (not at all hoping for extra marks, Susan), but it’s one of the more practical subjects I have taken so far.

Our assessment (if you can call it that) consists of blogging for 10 weeks, writing an original story, and completing a series of in-class exercises, which we were told this morning are quite fun. (I don’t know whether that was meant as fun for the students, or fun from the teachers’ perspective, watching the class scrabble for purchase.)

We also have some exciting opportunities to engage with some leading hands in the industry in weekly forums. That’s one of the great things about QUT – they offer you opportunities to get your hands dirty before you graduate so that you can discover whether you like the look and feel of that particular dirt under your finger nails.

Although I’m aiming on interning, working, and building a career in the publishing industry (namely on the literary side of things, with books and the like), I enjoy blogging and find myself fantasizing more frequently about a career in freelancing (editing or writing, or both) or blogging.

I immensely enjoyed Feature Writing last year, and found that I do have a way with words, and that I am more adept at writing on the feature/creative side of journalism, rather than on the hard-hitting news side. Perhaps this is something to consider.

But I shall save those deep-thinking, future-deciding questions for later, and I can’t wait to talk to you again next time, when I have something more substantial to say… something that will actually count towards my marks for the semester.

Leave a Reply

