BCI Champions

This year, the Bachelor of Creative Industries course at the Queensland University of Technology has a shiny new peer program called the BCI Champions Program.

And I’m a part of it. I am a BCI Champion.

The program consists of 14 third or fourth year BCI students, one from each major in the course.

Yes, there are 14 majors in the BCI.

My first official day as a BCI Champion.

My first official day as a BCI Champion.

Presumably, we’re quite a large cohort, which means that the university has struggled to create a sense of community among us.

The BCI Champions program aims to fix this problem, and I’m quite proud to be part of this new, and so far successful, program.

University can look a bit like this if you feel you don't belong.

University can look a bit like this if you feel you don’t belong.

Today we had a stall at the Kelvin Grove campus to make ourselves known and to help anyone who needed assistance and was brave enough to ask for it.

I’m proud to announce that next week we’re making one of our suggestions (originally my suggestion) actually happen.

On Tuesday morning before/after their lecture, we are hosting a BCI Breakfast outside of the first years’ lecture room.

Unfortunately, I have a lecture at the same time as theirs, but I will be able to stop in and grab a muffin on my way to my class. I always have time for muffins.

And if you happen to be a student at QUT, feel free to say hello and have a chat if you see me around campus.

 

Until next time

Leave a Reply

