S.M.A.R.T. Goals: T is for Timely

T is for Timely

This is the last instalment of this mini blog series, and if you’ve only just come in, catch up here: Keeping a New Year’s Resolution.

Ever heard the phrase “timing is everything”? The same goes for setting your goals.

I know from personal experience that without enforcing a time frame, I just will not get things done – I will always prioritise something else.

But putting a time frame or even a due date on your goal will add a sense of urgency. If this still doesn’t work, then this is where creating liability comes in.

Read about liability and goal setting in my first post, Keeping a New Year’s Resolution.

timely

After making your resolution specific, measurable, achievable, and realistic, giving yourself a time frame is the last important step. 

For example, now that you’ve determined that you can’t realistically achieve your goal of losing 10kg in two months, you decide to make your time frame four months. You aim to lose 1kg a week, with a margin of error of two weeks.

Ask…

  • When can I accomplish this goal?
  • When will I be able to work toward accomplishing my goal?
  • How often can I work toward accomplishing my goal?
  • Can I accomplish my goal ahead of time?
  • Might I need extra time to accommodate happenstance?

 

Read from the beginning: Keeping a New Year’s Resolution.

 

Image sourced from:

Julie Harrison. 2013. “Calendar.” Image. Accessed January 7, 2015. http://www.californialegalmalpractice.net/legal-malpractice-suits-must-filed-timely-manner/.

One thought on “S.M.A.R.T. Goals: T is for Timely

Leave a Reply

